Free Shipping and No Hassle Returns
Free Shipping
We offer free shipping on orders over $199.*
No Hassle Returns
Don’t like it? Send it back. It’s that simple.*
Same Day Shipping
Most orders ship same day if placed by 5PM EST (M-F)
*Restrictions Apply. See Details »
Model#: WLTNWMH14500
Condition:
New

What are the different product conditions?

New
Brand new items;Full manufacturer warranty available
Reconditioned
Manufacturer inspected, repaired and tested items; CPO 60 day money back guarantee
Open Box
New or Recon items with possible minor cosmetic damage; CPO 60 day money back guarantee
Certified
Returned items inspected, repaired and tested by CPO technicians; CPO 60 day money back guarantee

Wilton 14500 4500, Multi-Purpose Mechanics Vise - Swivel Base, 5-1/2 in. Jaw Width, 6 in. (9-3/4 in. Reversed) Jaw Opening, 3-3/4 in. Throat Depth

  • Wilton 14500 4500, Multi-Purpose Mechanics Vise - Swivel Base, 5-1/2 in. Jaw Width, 6 in. (9-3/4 in. Reversed) Jaw Opening, 3-3/4 in. Throat Depth
List:
$199.99
Sale Price:
$142.99
You Save
28%
Qty:
-
+
In Stock
Ships Tomorrow

Details

Features:
  • Jaw opening expands to an incredible 9-3/4 in. when reversed
  • When jaws are in normal position, jaw width measures 5-1/2 in. wide with a 6 in. opening
  • Replaceable hardened tool steel jaw faces
  • Swivel base with four mounting lugs allows for 360 Degree swivel
  • Two large anvil work surfaces
  • Two lockdown bolts are furnished to ensure stability
Includes:
  • 4500, Multi-Purpose Mechanics Vise - 14500

Specifications

Application: Automotive Maintenance, Maintenance and Repair
Shipping Weight: 52 lbs.

Recommendations

Reviews

4.7 / 5.0
10 Reviews
5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Star
8
1
1
0
0
Would you recommend?
Yes (10)
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Good Value Vise
For the value, this vise is hard to beat. You can find less expensive models, and also more expensive. But this is a very nice, sturdy, well made vise which should last a long time at a reasonable price.
December 19, 2011
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Excellent
Friend needed help with a rusted stuck 'brake' pedal assembly on his M943 Caterpillar. My 30 year old 4" cheap (Japan in this case) vise wasn't really big enough and its swivel was a mere friction lock like most so would turn under pressure. And I want to do more work on my trucks so I needed a new vise.

This has far more capacity every way, especially when you reverse the slide. Swivel has 'gear teeth' which positively lock it. Its deeper throat let me clamp the pedal and then I was able to bolt 'levers' to the flange of the housing and eventually rock the shaft loose. After soaking in hot oil of course.

Still needed to beat the 3/4" steel shaft out to replace the needle bearing assemblies and this vise was a champ at holding. To get the shaft back in w/o breaking the new bearings, had to beat the swelled end back to size with a 3 lb hammer and the anvils held up to that.

The rear anvil makes a handy shelf when the dynamic jaw is reversed.

The clamp bolt handles have knobs instead of pinches.

They put good paint on this. Holds up well.

When received, I disassembled the vise as a precaution which I would do with any vise no matter who made it or how much it cost. Found only a few shavings (pleasant surprise) and maybe enough grease. I cleaned and greased everything and it certainly passes the one-finger-turning handle-test.

The only noteworthy thing that might someday be a hassle is the static jaw face does not overhang the edge of the bench in regular position. Rarely needed so I can probably use either a shim or my old vise for that.

This vise was made in China, but it seems far better than the lower line vises you find at big box stores.

If there is a stronger vise of this capacity, I bet it will cost at least 2-3 times as much.
December 30, 2012
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
4500 Out of box review
I have a long term concern that the U shaped steel lead screw feature will seperate from the cast iron front of the vise over time. I expected the vise front assembly to be entirely cast iron. I hope Wilton stands behind their cost reduction decision to depart from the past conventional method of manufacturing.
January 2, 2013
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
excelent product
excelent product
September 19, 2012
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
A MUST HAVE
I am wood worker and sometimes work with steel. This vise is by far one of the best deals you will find for its amazing durability and use.
September 11, 2013
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
I would buy this again
Mounted on the bumper of a fire engine to sharpen fire tools.
September 23, 2013
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Nice product.
I was impressed with how sturdy and robust the vice is.
Twin locks on the base which are used to rotate the base have a nice deep indent.
April 22, 2014
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
awesome vise, good price
I am an industrial maintenance tech,, and I see big heavy vises all the time,, I am proud and excited to have this vise in my home shop, it will do any job I or the average home owner will need to accomplish...
August 4, 2015
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
The best
A+ product
July 23, 2016
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
solid heavy duty vise
so far I have hammered on it building a sheet metal console for a car and there is no visible damage or indication of use
February 6, 2014

Questions & Answers

Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
Browse 3 questions Browse 3 questions and 4 answers
How many mounting holes for this vise?
Tom on Oct 10, 2015
BEST ANSWER: There are four mounting holes.
Hi, What is the country of origin?
Oracle_oracle on Sep 21, 2015
BEST ANSWER: This product is made in China.
What are the dimensions for the mounting holes?
Harry on Jul 31, 2015
BEST ANSWER: For assistance with this question, please contact Wilton directly at 1-800-274-6848

Warranty

Lifetime

WILTON WARRANTY AND SERVICE

WMH Tool Group, Inc., warrants every product it sells. If one of our tools needs service or repair, one of our Authorized Service Centers located throughout the United States can give you quick service. In most cases, any of these WMH Tool Group Authorized Service Centers can authorize warranty repair, assist you in obtaining parts, or perform routine maintenance and major repair on your WILTON® tools. For the name of an Authorized Service Center in your area call 1-800-274-6848.

WHAT IS COVERED
This warranty covers any defects in workmanship or materials subject to the exceptions stated below. Cutting tools, abrasives and other consumables are excluded from warranty coverage.

WHO IS COVERED
This warranty covers only the initial purchaser of the product.

WHAT IS THE PERIOD OF COVERAGE
The general WILTON® warranty lasts for the time period specified in the product literature of each product.

WHAT IS NOT COVERED
This warranty does not cover defects due directly or indirectly to misuse, abuse, negligence or accidents, normal wear-and-tear, improper repair or alterations, or lack of maintenance.

HOW TO GET SERVICE
The product or part must be returned for examination, postage prepaid, to a location designated by us. For the name of the location nearest you, please call 1-800-274-6848.
You must provide proof of initial purchase date and an explanation of the complaint must accompany the merchandise. If our inspection discloses a defect, we will repair or replace the product, or refund the purchase price, at our option. We will return the repaired product or replacement at our expense unless it is determined by us that there is no defect, or that the defect resulted from causes not within the scope of our warranty in which case we will, at your direction, dispose of or return the product. In the event you choose to have the product returned, you will be responsible for the handling and shipping costs of the return

HOW STATE LAW APPLIES
This warranty gives you specific legal rights; you may also have other rights which vary from state to state.

LIMITATIONS ON THIS WARRANTY
WMH TOOL GROUP LIMITS ALL IMPLIED WARRANTIES TO THE PERIOD OF THE LIMITED WARRANTY FOR EACH PRODUCT. EXCEPT AS STATED HEREIN, ANY IMPLIED WARRANTIES OR MERCHANTABILITY AND FITNESS ARE EXCLUDED. SOME STATES DO NOT ALLOW LIMITATIONS ON HOW LONG THE IMPLIED WARRANTY LASTS, SO THE ABOVE LIMITATION MAY NOT APPLY TO YOU. WMH TOOL GROUP SHALL IN NO EVENT BE LIABLE FOR DEATH, INJURIES TO PERSONS OR PROPERTY, OR FOR INCIDENTAL, CONTINGENT, SPECIAL, OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES ARISING FROM THE USE OF OUR PRODUCTS. SOME STATES DO NOT ALLOW THE EXCLUSION OR LIMITATION OF INCIDENTAL OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES, SO THE ABOVE LIMITATION OR EXCLUSION MAY NOT APPLY TO YOU.

WMH Tool Group sells through distributors only. The specifications in WMH catalogs are given as general information and are not binding. Members of WMH Tool Group reserve the right to effect at any time, without prior notice, those alterations to parts, fittings, and accessory equipment which they may deem necessary for any reason whatsoever.