Free Shipping and No Hassle Returns
Free Shipping
We offer free shipping on orders over $199.*
No Hassle Returns
Don’t like it? Send it back. It’s that simple.*
Same Day Shipping
Most orders ship same day if placed by 5PM EST (M-F)
*Restrictions Apply. See Details »
Free Shipping on orders over $199 $99
Same day shipping on most orders
Model#: JETN708360
Condition:
New

What are the different product conditions?

New
Brand new items;Full manufacturer warranty available
Reconditioned
Manufacturer inspected, repaired and tested items; CPO 60 day money back guarantee
Open Box
New or Recon items with possible minor cosmetic damage; CPO 60 day money back guarantee
Certified
Returned items inspected, repaired and tested by CPO technicians; CPO 60 day money back guarantee

JET JWL-1642EVS-2 16 in. x 42 in. 2 HP Woodworking Lathe

  • JET JWL-1642EVS-2 16 in. x 42 in. 2 HP Woodworking Lathe
Free Shipping
(continental U.S.)
+
Out of Stock
Want an email when it's back in stock?

Details

This, the largest of the JET, lathes is a real powerhouse. With an electronic variable speed and sliding head you can turn bowls up to 16 in. over the bed an deven larger off the end and 42 in. spindles standard and as long as your shop will allow with the optional bed extension.
Features:
  • Heavy-duty cast-iron lathe bed and legs add stability while limiting vibration
  • Electronic inverter lets you operate the machine at any speed from 0 to 3,200 RPM
  • Digital readout allows operator to dial in the desired speed for best results
  • High/low speed change level quickly changes belt positions
  • Spindle has positive locking indexing in 10 increments for fast, efficient fluting and veining operations
  • Built-in spindle locks let you remove or replace faceplates and chucks with ease
  • Cam-lock mechanisms allow adjustments of headstock, tailstock and tool rest base without having to use tools
  • Special cast-iron webbings in legs accept 2x4s or 2x12s to construct a solid tool and sandbag shelf
  • Tool storage basket conveniently holts chisels and other tools within easy reach of the operator
Includes:
  • 16 in. x 42 in. 2 HP Woodworking Lathe - 708360
  • 14 in. Tool Rest
  • 6 in. Face Plate
  • Spur Center
  • Dual-Bearing Live Center
  • Live Center
  • Tooling Knockout
  • Spindle &, Indexing Locks
  • Safety Shield &, Brake Resistor
  • Wrench
Downloads:

Specifications

Weight: 420 lbs.
AC Voltage: 230V
Distance Between Centers: 16-1/2 in.
Horsepower: 0.75
Motor Phase (PH): 1
PreWired Voltage: 230V
Spindle Speed Range (RPM): 500 - 4,000
Spindle Speed Settings: 5
Spindle Taper (Headstock): MT-2
Spindle Taper (Tailstock): MT-2
Swing Over Bed: 12-1/2 in.
Tailstock Spindle Travel: 2-1/4 in.
Tool Rest Length: 6 in. / 10 in.

Recommendations

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
14 Reviews
5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Star
14
0
0
0
0
Would you recommend?
Yes (14)
Pros
Easy To Use (14)
Powerful (14)
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Pros
Easy To Use
Powerful
the best for the money
I have been hobby turning for the past 7 years and am getting into profit projects.This is by far the best on the market for the money, plenty of power, shoping around I found it for much less. a stable and smooth operating lathe, the only thing it is missing is a pivoting head. this lathe has all the other features one would want or need. Idid have to buy a thread reducer for my old chuck.
September 24, 2010
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Pros
Easy To Use
Powerful
Best Value in a full-sized lathe
Bought this lathe (2hp version) and have not regretted it. I added a weight box with 300lb sand between the legs for stability when rough turning out-of-balance stock. The lathe is smooth-running and very powerful. It arrived packed in a wooden crate and very secure. The motor runs smooth and the electronic variable speed is a great feature. Also comes with a removable safety cage for those questionable turning blanks.
October 21, 2011
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Pros
Easy To Use
Powerful
So Far So Good
After researching lathes and talking to several turners I decided on the Jet 1642 EVS-2. It has enough swing for 99% of the bowels I will turn and the power is just right.I got mine on sale at CPO Tools and it was at my door in three days. Great lathe at a fair price. Package weighs over 400 pounds so you will need a buddy to help assemble. Thank You Jet for a great product.
December 2, 2011
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Pros
Easy To Use
Powerful
Jwl 1642evs-2
A great lathe, very heavy and durable. Custormer service was very helpful answering questions I had about delivery. Very happy with the lathe.
December 3, 2011
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Pros
Easy To Use
Powerful
Best lathe on the market for the price!
Bought the lathe on sale from CPO, great price for such a powerful machine. I actually assembled it by myself, not easy, but can be done. After assembly and wired shop for 220V, started right up. Quite, powerful, exactly what I expected. I have only had it for one week and have already turned several projects. So far it has easily handled everything I threw at it. Only complant was that the shipping company was late.
July 21, 2012
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Pros
Easy To Use
Powerful
Great Lathe
Turning bowls
March 22, 2013
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Pros
Easy To Use
Powerful
Powerful and easy to use
Solid accurate operation
September 25, 2014
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Pros
Easy To Use
Powerful
worth the weight
Solidly built. Spindle, tailstock and toolrest are precisely made well designed and sturdy. Love the motor and speed control. Quiet as a sewing machine yet powerful. I am really pleased.Not a casual purchase though. [...]
December 5, 2010
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Pros
Easy To Use
Powerful
Best buy on the Lathe Market
Glad I bought it. Got it on sale at Woodcraft [...] Can't beat that.
May 24, 2011
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Pros
Easy To Use
Powerful
A nice heavy lathe
The lathe arrived in excellent condition and well packed. Assembly was easy for two people. The machine works nice, it is silent and speed is easy to control. One of the best for the money. An excellent value.
October 15, 2011

Questions & Answers

Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
Browse 4 questions Browse 4 questions and 4 answers
I'm interested in the two horse lathe x 42 inch rail. on the specification chart under horsepower it says .75 for horse power. whats up with that, all the other jet products , 1 and a half hp,and smaller has that decimal HP rating
Felix the Cat on Apr 26, 2016
BEST ANSWER: This Lathe is a 2 HP
Can this lathe be mounted to a sturdy workbench instead of being floor-mounted?
Larry on Feb 25, 2016
BEST ANSWER: Mounting to a workbench is not recommended.
I am under the understand 2hp mortor is set for 110 I have look on line for more infor an can not find one for110 all seem to be220 I order the 2hp cause it a said that it was 120v Please help me cause if it 220 i will have to send it back Thank you Rawson Beals
Rawson on Oct 1, 2015
BEST ANSWER: Yes, this unit works on a 120V standard wall outlet.
what is the overall length mod.#jwl1642evs-2
Bob on Jan 20, 2014
BEST ANSWER: Specifications can be found on page 8 of the manual. Here is a link to the manual:
http://demandware.edgesuite.net/aaea_prd/on/demandware.static/Sites-jet-Site/Sites-cpo-master-catalog/default/v1393756719442/product_media/jet/jetn708360/documents/jetn708360_manual.pdf

Warranty

JET RED ASSURANCE Program


Do you know about the JET RED ASSURANCE Program? Well, the JET RED ASSURANCE Program was designed to make sure you do! JET has the best and most dependable service in the Industry and they want to make sure you know about it. In addition, to their standard warranty JET offers the Industry's most dependable service and support guarantee. Click here to learn more about what JET RED ASSURANCE can do for you!


5-Year

WARRANTY AND SERVICE

WMH Tool Group, Inc., warrants every product it sells. If one of our tools needs service or repair, one of our Authorized Service Centers located throughout the United States can give you quick service. In most cases, any of these WMH Tool Group Authorized Service Centers can authorize warranty repair, assist you in obtaining parts, or perform routine maintenance and major repair on your JET® tools. For the name of an Authorized Service Center in your area, call 1-800-274-6848.

MORE INFORMATION
This warranty covers any defects in workmanship or materials subject to the exceptions stated below. Cutting tools, abrasives and other consumables are excluded from warranty coverage.

WARRANTY

This JET product carries a limited five-year warranty.

WHAT IS COVERED
This warranty covers any defects in workmanship or materials subject to the exceptions stated below. Cutting tools, abrasives and other consumables are excluded from warranty coverage.

WHO IS COVERED
This warranty covers only the initial purchaser of the product.

WHAT IS THE PERIOD OF COVERAGE
The general JET warranty lasts for the time period specified in the product literature of each product.

WHAT IS NOT COVERED
Five Year Warranties do not cover woodworking (WW) products used for commercial, industrial or educational purposes. Woodworking products with Five Year Warranties that are used for commercial, industrial or education purposes revert to a One Year Warranty. This warranty does not cover defects due directly or indirectly to misuse, abuse, negligence or accidents, normal wear-and-tear, improper repair or alterations, or lack of maintenance.

HOW TO GET SERVICE
The product or part must be returned for examination, postage prepaid, to a location designated by us. For the name of the location nearest you, please call 1-800-274-6848.
You must provide proof of initial purchase date and an explanation of the complaint must accompany the merchandise. If our inspection discloses a defect, we will repair or replace the product, or refund the purchase price, at our option. We will return the repaired product or replacement at our expense unless it is determined by us that there is no defect, or that the defect resulted from causes not within the scope of our warranty in which case we will, at your direction, dispose of or return the product. In the event you choose to have the product returned, you will be responsible for the handling and shipping costs of the return.

HOW STATE LAW APPLIES
This warranty gives you specific legal rights; you may also have other rights which vary from state to state.

LIMITATIONS ON THIS WARRANTY
WMH TOOL GROUP LIMITS ALL IMPLIED WARRANTIES TO THE PERIOD OF THE LIMITED WARRANTY FOR EACH PRODUCT. EXCEPT AS STATED HEREIN, ANY IMPLIED WARRANTIES OR MERCHANTABILITY AND FITNESS ARE EXCLUDED. SOME STATES DO NOT ALLOW LIMITATIONS ON HOW LONG THE IMPLIED WARRANTY LASTS, SO THE ABOVE LIMITATION MAY NOT APPLY TO YOU. WMH TOOL GROUP SHALL IN NO EVENT BE LIABLE FOR DEATH, INJURIES TO PERSONS OR PROPERTY, OR FOR INCIDENTAL, CONTINGENT, SPECIAL, OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES ARISING FROM THE USE OF OUR PRODUCTS. SOME STATES DO NOT ALLOW THE EXCLUSION OR LIMITATION OF INCIDENTAL OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES, SO THE ABOVE LIMITATION OR EXCLUSION MAY NOT APPLY TO YOU.

WMH Tool Group sells through distributors only. The specifications in WMH catalogs are given as general information and are not binding. Members of WMH Tool Group reserve the right to effect at any time, without prior notice, those alterations to parts, fittings, and accessory equipment which they may deem necessary for any reason whatsoever.