NO-RISK RETURNS through January 31
Over 2 Million Served
Need Help? Experts Available 1-866-577-0663
Welcome:
Login|Register
My Cart:
0 Items
Jet 708359 JWL-1642EVS, 16 in. x 42 in. 1-1/2 HP Woodworking Lathe
Model#: JETN708359
Email
|
Condition:
New

What are the different product conditions?

New
Brand new items;Full manufacturer warranty available
Reconditioned
Manufacturer inspected, repaired and tested items; CPO 60 day money back guarantee
Open Box
New or Recon items with possible minor cosmetic damage; CPO 60 day money back guarantee
Certified
Returned items inspected, repaired and tested by CPO technicians; CPO 60 day money back guarantee

Jet 708359 JWL-1642EVS, 16 in. x 42 in. 1-1/2 HP Woodworking Lathe

Model#: JETN708359
Retail:
$2,839.99
Our Price:
$2,344.99
Sale Price:
$1,993.24
You Save:
$846.75 (30%)
Factory Shipped - Ships in 3-4 business days
Qty
Free Shipping (continental U.S.)
  • Woodworking Sale – Save up to 30%

    *20% Accessories, 15% Machines and 30% Air filtration Discount already reflected in Sales price on product page. Offer ends Dec 1st, 2014 11:59pm ET. Valid on select Jet items, qualifying items are identified on the product page. Discount applies to merchandise only. Excludes tax and shipping. No adjustments on previous purchases. Subject to change without notice.

Details

Features:
  • Heavy-duty cast-iron lathe bed and legs add stability while limiting vibration
  • Electronic inverter lets you operate the machine at any speed from 0 to 3,200 RPM
  • Digital readout allows operator to dial in the desired speed for best results
  • High/low speed change level quickly changes belt positions
  • Spindle has positive locking indexing in 10 increments for fast, efficient fluting and veining operations
  • Built-in spindle locks let you remove or replace faceplates and chucks with ease
  • Cam-lock mechanisms allow adjustments of headstock, tailstock and tool rest base without having to use tools
  • Special cast-iron webbings in legs accept 2x4s or 2x12s to construct a solid tool and sandbag shelf
  • Tool storage basket conveniently holts chisels and other tools within easy reach of the operator
Includes:
  • 16 in. x 42 in. 1-1/2 HP Woodworking Lathe - 708359
  • 14 in. Tool Rest
  • 6 in. Face Plate
  • Spur Center
  • Dual-Bearing Live Center
  • Live Center
  • Tooling Knockout
  • Spindle &, Indexing Locks
  • Safety Shield &, Brake Resistor
  • Wrench
Downloads:

Specifications

Weight: 410 lbs.
Compound Slide Travel: 4 in.
Distance Between Centers: 42 in.+
Horsepower: 1.5
Range of Spindle Speeds: 0 - 3200 RPM
Swing Over Bed: 16 in.
Swing Over Cross Slide: 12 in.
Voltage: 115V

Reviews

Product Reviews

REVIEW SNAPSHOT®

by PowerReviews
JetJWL-1642EVS, 16 in. x 42 in. 1-1/2 HP Woodworking Lathe
 
4.6

(based on 13 reviews)

100%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Pros

  • Good design (11)
  • Easy to use (10)
  • Good power output (8)

Cons

    Best Uses

    • In the workshop (8)
      • Reviewer Profile:
      • Avid do-it-yourselfer (8), Casual do-it-yourselfer (5)

    Reviewed by 13 customers

    Sort by

    Displaying reviews 11-13

    Back to top

     
    5.0

    [...],A-OK

    By The Furniture Man

    from Edmond, Oklahoma

    About Me Avid Do-It-Yourselfer

    Pros

    • Easy To Use
    • Good Design

    Cons

      Best Uses

        Comments about JWL-1642EVS, 16 in. x 42 in. 1-1/2 HP Woodworking Lathe:

        The delivery arrived on time, with a truck driver using a pallet lift to deliver to my shop.It is easy to set up, but the weight means you should have two to put together.It's like driving a Rolls Royce - no noise and no vibration.The infinitely variable-speed control works perfectly. I wish I had purchased it sooner.

        (1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

         
        5.0

        GREAT LATHE for the beginner to the pro.

        By Bill

        from Clyde, Tx.

        About Me Avid Do-It-Yourselfer

        Verified Reviewer

        Pros

        • Easy To Use
        • Good Design
        • Powerful

        Cons

          Best Uses

          • Gifts
          • In The Workshop

          Comments about JWL-1642EVS, 16 in. x 42 in. 1-1/2 HP Woodworking Lathe:

          I am a avid Do-It-Myself. I have turned everything from pens to bowels and this lathe works great on everthing I have done. It is quiet, powerful and heavy enough that it doesn't bounce around when you turn something out of round.

           
          4.0

          Very Satisfied

          By Chuck

          from Amarillo, Tx

          About Me Avid Do-It-Yourselfer

          Verified Reviewer

          Pros

            Cons

              Best Uses

                Comments about JWL-1642EVS, 16 in. x 42 in. 1-1/2 HP Woodworking Lathe:

                [...] CPO communication was good.

                Displaying reviews 11-13

                Back to top

                Questions & Answers

                Do you have questions about this product?

                get answers from real customers and in-house experts with AnswerBox.

                4 Questions | 5 Answers
                Displaying questions 1-4
                • JWL-1642EVS, 16 in. x 42 in. 1-1/2 HP Woodworking Lathe

                  Q:

                  what does swing over the cross slide mean?
                  Asked on 6/11/2014 by edward from psl, florida

                  1 answer

                  • CUSTOMER CARE

                    A:

                    "Swing over cross slide" would be the largest diameter that will clear the cross slide on top of the carriage.

                    Answered on 6/12/2014 by Ken from Atlanta, GA
                • JWL-1642EVS, 16 in. x 42 in. 1-1/2 HP Woodworking Lathe

                  Q:

                  What are the dimensions? i.e. How wide is it at the widest point(s)? (The leg stance width?) And how long is the total length; from outside of motor to outside tip of tail-stock handle when the tail-stock is positioned all the way at the end of the bed? I have limited room for installation of a lathe in my small shop. Thanks.
                  Asked on 2/25/2013 by AK from Sierra Mtns, CA

                  2 answers

                  • CUSTOMER CARE

                    A:

                    The width id 59" and the depth is 29". The height is 44-1/2".

                    Answered on 2/25/2013 by Ken from Atlanta, GA
                  • A:

                    The item is twenty-nine inches in width, twenty-eight inches in height, and fifty-nine inches in length. It also weighs four hundred and ten pounds.

                    Answered on 2/26/2013 by Community Answer from None
                • JWL-1642EVS, 16 in. x 42 in. 1-1/2 HP Woodworking Lathe

                  Q:

                  Do you ship to APO address? Please let me know total price include shipping.
                  Please e-mail to hokum.sim.kr@us.af.mil with estimate.
                  Thank you.
                  Asked on 1/21/2013 by Shimmy from APO AP

                  1 answer

                  • CUSTOMER CARE

                    A:

                    We do not ship to APO/FPO, US Territories, Canada or other countries at this time.

                    Answered on 1/29/2013 by Big Ken from Lawrenceville, GA
                • JWL-1642EVS, 16 in. x 42 in. 1-1/2 HP Woodworking Lathe

                  Q:

                  Does this lathe require a 220 Volt electrical outlet
                  Asked on 12/12/2012 by jaydee from longs SC

                  1 answer

                  • A:

                    The model (shown above) JWL-1642EVS requires 120V grounded outlet.
                    The model JWL-1642EVS-2 requires a 220V outlet.

                    Answered on 12/14/2012 by Community Answer from None
                Displaying questions 1-4

                Do you have a question about this product? 

                 

                Warranty

                JET RED ASSURANCE Program


                Do you know about the JET RED ASSURANCE Program? Well, the JET RED ASSURANCE Program was designed to make sure you do! JET has the best and most dependable service in the Industry and they want to make sure you know about it. In addition, to their standard warranty JET offers the Industry's most dependable service and support guarantee. Click here to learn more about what JET RED ASSURANCE can do for you!


                5-Year

                WARRANTY AND SERVICE

                WMH Tool Group, Inc., warrants every product it sells. If one of our tools needs service or repair, one of our Authorized Service Centers located throughout the United States can give you quick service. In most cases, any of these WMH Tool Group Authorized Service Centers can authorize warranty repair, assist you in obtaining parts, or perform routine maintenance and major repair on your JET® tools. For the name of an Authorized Service Center in your area, call 1-800-274-6848.

                MORE INFORMATION
                This warranty covers any defects in workmanship or materials subject to the exceptions stated below. Cutting tools, abrasives and other consumables are excluded from warranty coverage.

                WARRANTY

                This JET product carries a limited five-year warranty.

                WHAT IS COVERED
                This warranty covers any defects in workmanship or materials subject to the exceptions stated below. Cutting tools, abrasives and other consumables are excluded from warranty coverage.

                WHO IS COVERED
                This warranty covers only the initial purchaser of the product.

                WHAT IS THE PERIOD OF COVERAGE
                The general JET warranty lasts for the time period specified in the product literature of each product.

                WHAT IS NOT COVERED
                Five Year Warranties do not cover woodworking (WW) products used for commercial, industrial or educational purposes. Woodworking products with Five Year Warranties that are used for commercial, industrial or education purposes revert to a One Year Warranty. This warranty does not cover defects due directly or indirectly to misuse, abuse, negligence or accidents, normal wear-and-tear, improper repair or alterations, or lack of maintenance.

                HOW TO GET SERVICE
                The product or part must be returned for examination, postage prepaid, to a location designated by us. For the name of the location nearest you, please call 1-800-274-6848.
                You must provide proof of initial purchase date and an explanation of the complaint must accompany the merchandise. If our inspection discloses a defect, we will repair or replace the product, or refund the purchase price, at our option. We will return the repaired product or replacement at our expense unless it is determined by us that there is no defect, or that the defect resulted from causes not within the scope of our warranty in which case we will, at your direction, dispose of or return the product. In the event you choose to have the product returned, you will be responsible for the handling and shipping costs of the return.

                HOW STATE LAW APPLIES
                This warranty gives you specific legal rights; you may also have other rights which vary from state to state.

                LIMITATIONS ON THIS WARRANTY
                WMH TOOL GROUP LIMITS ALL IMPLIED WARRANTIES TO THE PERIOD OF THE LIMITED WARRANTY FOR EACH PRODUCT. EXCEPT AS STATED HEREIN, ANY IMPLIED WARRANTIES OR MERCHANTABILITY AND FITNESS ARE EXCLUDED. SOME STATES DO NOT ALLOW LIMITATIONS ON HOW LONG THE IMPLIED WARRANTY LASTS, SO THE ABOVE LIMITATION MAY NOT APPLY TO YOU. WMH TOOL GROUP SHALL IN NO EVENT BE LIABLE FOR DEATH, INJURIES TO PERSONS OR PROPERTY, OR FOR INCIDENTAL, CONTINGENT, SPECIAL, OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES ARISING FROM THE USE OF OUR PRODUCTS. SOME STATES DO NOT ALLOW THE EXCLUSION OR LIMITATION OF INCIDENTAL OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES, SO THE ABOVE LIMITATION OR EXCLUSION MAY NOT APPLY TO YOU.

                WMH Tool Group sells through distributors only. The specifications in WMH catalogs are given as general information and are not binding. Members of WMH Tool Group reserve the right to effect at any time, without prior notice, those alterations to parts, fittings, and accessory equipment which they may deem necessary for any reason whatsoever.