Free Shipping and No Hassle Returns
Free Shipping
We offer free shipping on orders over $199.*
No Hassle Returns
Don’t like it? Send it back. It’s that simple.*
Same Day Shipping
Most orders ship same day if placed by 5PM EST (M-F)
*Restrictions Apply. See Details »
Free Shipping on orders over $199 $99
Same day shipping on most orders
Model#: JETN629004K
Condition:
New

What are the different product conditions?

New
Brand new items;Full manufacturer warranty available
Reconditioned
Manufacturer inspected, repaired and tested items; CPO 60 day money back guarantee
Open Box
New or Recon items with possible minor cosmetic damage; CPO 60 day money back guarantee
Certified
Returned items inspected, repaired and tested by CPO technicians; CPO 60 day money back guarantee

JET 16-32 Plus Drum Sander

  • JET 16-32 Plus Drum Sander
Free Shipping
(continental U.S.)
+
Out of Stock
Want an email when it's back in stock?

Details

This sander was the first of it's kind never to be duplicated. It allows you to accurately sand the surface of a board up to 32 in. wide.
Features:
  • Infinitely variable-feed control produces the ultimate finish at a rate from 0 to 10 ft. per minute
  • Patented conveyor belt TRACKERS, dramatically reduce the need for manual belt adjustment
  • Precision-machined and balanced extruded aluminum drum is self-cooling to protect the surface being sanded from heat-damage
  • Sealed and permanently lubricated drum ball bearings for longer life
  • Precision-flattened reinforced steel conveyor bed and no-give power feed belt provide a constant smooth sanding action for better results
  • Adjustable drum height and downward pressure feature virtually eliminates snipe
  • Top-position hand wheel adjusts height at 1/16 in. per turn for precise sanding thickness control
  • Patented abrasive take-up fasteners make changing abrasives quick and easy
  • Continuous-duty, 1-1/2 HP motor is designed for heavier use for longer periods of time
  • On/off switch with overload protection is front-mounted for operator's convenience
  • Two motors: one feeds, while the other drives for superior sanding control
Includes:
  • 16-32 Plus Drum Sander - 629004K
  • 80-Grit Abrasive Strip
  • 100-Grit Abrasive Belt
  • TufTool,
  • Metal Stand w/ Shelf
  • (1) Box of Ready to Wrap, Abrasives
Downloads:

Specifications

Weight: 164 lbs.
AC Voltage: 115V
Amperage: 14A
Bearing Diameter: 1 in.
Conveyor Motor: 43 in-lbs. Direct Drive
Conveyor Speed (FPM): 0 - 10
Drum Diameter: 5 in.
Drum Length: 16 in.
Drum Speed (RPM): 1720
Dust Port Size: 4 in.
Horsepower: 1.5
Max. Board Thickness: 3 in.
Max. Board Width: 32 in.
Min. Board Length: 2-1/4 in.
Min. Board Thickness: 1/32 in.
Motor Phase: 1
Pre-Wired Voltage: 115V
Type: Open Base

Recommendations

Reviews

4.5 / 5.0
33 Reviews
5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Star
19
11
2
1
0
Would you recommend?
Yes (30)
No (3)
Pros
Powerful (22)
Cons
Heavy (3)
Best Uses
Frequent Use (17)
Recommendations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend
Pros
Powerful
Best Uses
Frequent Use
Poor Quality Control
Had read all the hype about a lot of problems with the belt teacking issues. Decided since I have a jet 6" planer that is a horse, would try the 16-32 Drum Sander. Bought from local wood in case I had trouble. The boxes were not damaged, the unit looked in good shape with no damage. I backed the belt off , like the instructions, and adjusted according to the instructions. The belt continually tracked to the out side. The only way I could get it to track straight was to buckle the belt on the inside. Called the dealer, he referred me to the factory tech, who referred me to the factory. They next day shipped a belt, good response, and I installed it. The belt is 3M brand, the old belt was a Bear brand. The old belt was 16" wide. The new belt is 16 3/16" wide, which does not leave much room between the guides. The belt tracked to the out sice again, but not as bad. I realigned everything and it seems to be doing better. Keep in mind I used a dial caliper to measure each side adjustment to make sure they are even. I ended up with the inbound side about 1/16" looser for the belt to track. This machine is too tempermental and too much of a hassel. Ready to take back to the dealer.
March 23, 2009
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Pros
Powerful
Best Uses
Frequent Use
Nice sander, easy setup
I like the easy setup and alignment and ease of use. What I don't like is the bad dust hood latch design. I have to reach down the dust shoot to lift up the small cross bar so the latch will catch. I also am not impressed with the spring clip design that secures the end of the sandpaper belt. Just slipping the paper end in after lifting the spring clip and then letting it go was not enough to secure the sandpaper. When I turned on the power the belt came loose and thrashed around. In order to make sure it was secure, I pushed down on the spring clip lever and that did the trick.
August 8, 2010
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Very Pleased
good to go out of the box
December 29, 2010
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Pros
Powerful
Cons
Heavy
I'm sorry I waited thirty years
Belt changes are easy when you do a few. I have never used the tool just my fingers. The infeed and outfeed tables should come with the machine. Belt tracking has not been a problem at all. The video that comes with it was a big help. The casters are a must if you want portability. A much needed tool for my shop!!!! Thank You SANTA!
December 13, 2011
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Pros
Powerful
Best Uses
Frequent Use
A good purchase
This is a great machine. I bought this the Monday after Thanksgiving, CPO had a wonderful sale going on. I would do it again in a minute. The belt change can be a little tricky, but once you have done it a few times it is like second nature, plus the TufTool makes it easier. Great product!!
December 16, 2011
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Pros
Powerful
Best Uses
Frequent Use
Drum Sander Get it Done
I had seen this sander at trade shows and in wood stores and when the sander went on sale, I could not put off the purchase any longer. I have only had it a few weeks but so far it has lived up to me every expectation to date. I was truly surprised at the quite operation - the dust collector is a whole lot louder than the sander! I also like the adjustable speed of the in feed belt, allowing for finer sanding at slower speeds for a truly smooth finish.
July 24, 2015
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Conveyor belt problems
I purchased my Jet drum sander (16-32 plus) in July of 2014. I have used it approximately 50 hours and found it to be a wonderful machine. If properly done, I can sand the thickness of a board to a plus or minus .005" of the desired thickness. I recently was sanding when the conveyor belt came apart. I checked with "Jet" technical assistance and the gentleman told me that the conveyor belt is only under warranty for 90 days. He also told me the belt had been tensioned too tight. He explained to me that belt is tensioned tight when the drum sander is shipped. It should be retensioned before it is used. I didn't do that and that was a mistake. Cost of new belt $78...add another $10.00 for shipping.
September 14, 2015
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Pros
Powerful
Best Uses
Frequent Use
This tool is exactly what I need.
I use this product to prepare wood for gluing to produce dimensioned pieces for segmented turnings.
June 10, 2011
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Pros
Powerful
Best Uses
Frequent Use
Thank you!
I have been wanting a drum sander for quite some time now and I have found that this one had the best overall reviews. Most sanders I read about all had some kind of complaint regarding the tracking. I set mine up from "in box" to sanding in just over an hour and it kicked butt. I had to run 30 knotty Alder shelves through it 3 different times and it kept up. Yes, the feed is a bit slow, but that's woodworking. Now I don't have to align my joints exactly when gluing two boards together to make a shelf. I can just through it in the drum sander. I use all rough sawn wood so this is a big improvement to my shop.
Thanks!
October 6, 2011
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Great Sander
Great sander for medium sized projects. Powerful, smooth sanding and easy, easys belt changes. Great machine compared to Grizzly or Sears drum sanders for smooth finish and easy belt change. This wins hands down.
December 11, 2011

Questions & Answers

Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
Browse 4 questions Browse 4 questions and 4 answers
Concerning the Jet 16-32: Why does the CD (Part #99-1002) fail to open when inserted into a MAC? It appears that the information provided on the CD is very important to successfully use this equipment.
Dave on Oct 1, 2015
BEST ANSWER: Please contact the manufacturer direct at 1-800-274-6848 for technical assistance.
Can I order a 16-32 but 220v? thank you!
CLD on Feb 17, 2015
BEST ANSWER: No, we do not sell the 16-32 in a 220V.
What does the designation "plus" mean in the item description for the 16-32 sander?
Bill in Leesburg Fl
bill on Jan 17, 2015
BEST ANSWER: The plus is stating the unit comes with a stand, and is not a bench top only unit.
I have had a jet 16 32 drum Sander for a few years now and the sand paper clamp on the motor side always comes loose. Is there a better replacement clamp I can use?
Nick on Jan 10, 2015
BEST ANSWER: Please contact the manufacturer directly at 800-274-6848 for parts.

Warranty

JET RED ASSURANCE Program


Do you know about the JET RED ASSURANCE Program? Well, the JET RED ASSURANCE Program was designed to make sure you do! JET has the best and most dependable service in the Industry and they want to make sure you know about it. In addition, to their standard warranty JET offers the Industry's most dependable service and support guarantee. Click here to learn more about what JET RED ASSURANCE can do for you!


5-Year

WARRANTY AND SERVICE

WMH Tool Group, Inc., warrants every product it sells. If one of our tools needs service or repair, one of our Authorized Service Centers located throughout the United States can give you quick service. In most cases, any of these WMH Tool Group Authorized Service Centers can authorize warranty repair, assist you in obtaining parts, or perform routine maintenance and major repair on your JET® tools. For the name of an Authorized Service Center in your area, call 1-800-274-6848.

MORE INFORMATION
This warranty covers any defects in workmanship or materials subject to the exceptions stated below. Cutting tools, abrasives and other consumables are excluded from warranty coverage.

WARRANTY

This JET product carries a limited five-year warranty.

WHAT IS COVERED
This warranty covers any defects in workmanship or materials subject to the exceptions stated below. Cutting tools, abrasives and other consumables are excluded from warranty coverage.

WHO IS COVERED
This warranty covers only the initial purchaser of the product.

WHAT IS THE PERIOD OF COVERAGE
The general JET warranty lasts for the time period specified in the product literature of each product.

WHAT IS NOT COVERED
Five Year Warranties do not cover woodworking (WW) products used for commercial, industrial or educational purposes. Woodworking products with Five Year Warranties that are used for commercial, industrial or education purposes revert to a One Year Warranty. This warranty does not cover defects due directly or indirectly to misuse, abuse, negligence or accidents, normal wear-and-tear, improper repair or alterations, or lack of maintenance.

HOW TO GET SERVICE
The product or part must be returned for examination, postage prepaid, to a location designated by us. For the name of the location nearest you, please call 1-800-274-6848.
You must provide proof of initial purchase date and an explanation of the complaint must accompany the merchandise. If our inspection discloses a defect, we will repair or replace the product, or refund the purchase price, at our option. We will return the repaired product or replacement at our expense unless it is determined by us that there is no defect, or that the defect resulted from causes not within the scope of our warranty in which case we will, at your direction, dispose of or return the product. In the event you choose to have the product returned, you will be responsible for the handling and shipping costs of the return.

HOW STATE LAW APPLIES
This warranty gives you specific legal rights; you may also have other rights which vary from state to state.

LIMITATIONS ON THIS WARRANTY
WMH TOOL GROUP LIMITS ALL IMPLIED WARRANTIES TO THE PERIOD OF THE LIMITED WARRANTY FOR EACH PRODUCT. EXCEPT AS STATED HEREIN, ANY IMPLIED WARRANTIES OR MERCHANTABILITY AND FITNESS ARE EXCLUDED. SOME STATES DO NOT ALLOW LIMITATIONS ON HOW LONG THE IMPLIED WARRANTY LASTS, SO THE ABOVE LIMITATION MAY NOT APPLY TO YOU. WMH TOOL GROUP SHALL IN NO EVENT BE LIABLE FOR DEATH, INJURIES TO PERSONS OR PROPERTY, OR FOR INCIDENTAL, CONTINGENT, SPECIAL, OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES ARISING FROM THE USE OF OUR PRODUCTS. SOME STATES DO NOT ALLOW THE EXCLUSION OR LIMITATION OF INCIDENTAL OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES, SO THE ABOVE LIMITATION OR EXCLUSION MAY NOT APPLY TO YOU.

WMH Tool Group sells through distributors only. The specifications in WMH catalogs are given as general information and are not binding. Members of WMH Tool Group reserve the right to effect at any time, without prior notice, those alterations to parts, fittings, and accessory equipment which they may deem necessary for any reason whatsoever.