Free Shipping and No Hassle Returns
Free Shipping
We offer free shipping on orders over $199.*
No Hassle Returns
Don’t like it? Send it back. It’s that simple.*
Same Day Shipping
Most orders ship same day if placed by 5PM EST (M-F)
*Restrictions Apply. See Details »
Free Shipping on orders over $199 $99
Same day shipping on most orders
Model#: GRCN5747
Condition:
New

What are the different product conditions?

New
Brand new items;Full manufacturer warranty available
Reconditioned
Manufacturer inspected, repaired and tested items; CPO 60 day money back guarantee
Open Box
New or Recon items with possible minor cosmetic damage; CPO 60 day money back guarantee
Certified
Returned items inspected, repaired and tested by CPO technicians; CPO 60 day money back guarantee

Generac XG8000E XG Series 8,000 Watt Electric-Manual Start Portable Generator

New $1,249.99
Recon $1,049.99
List:
$1,669.99
Sale Price:
$1,249.99
You Save
25%
Free Freight Shipping »
(continental U.S.)

Freight Orders

Freight deliveries require a delivery time be scheduled and someone must be present at the time of delivery to inspect and sign for the merchandise. A representative from the freight carrier will call the phone number entered at checkout to schedule the delivery.


Liftgate Service

For freight deliveries, you have the option of adding a liftgate to your delivery. A liftgate is the device that lowers a product from the truck to ground level.

CPO recommends adding liftgate service for freight deliveries exceeding 100 lbs if you do not have a loading dock or fork lift at the delivery address. Additional charges may apply. The liftgate option will be presented during the checkout process.

Please note that liftgate service only ensures the product is removed from the truck. We recommend you have the additional help of two to four people to move the product to its desired location because drivers are not required to assist.

Requesting liftgate service after ordering may result in additional charges and delays.

+
Tyler Tool Protection Plans are not currently offered to residents of California
Qty:
-
+
In Stock
Ships Tomorrow
  • Need it before Christmas? Click Here for shipping deadlines.

    Christmas Shipping Cut Offs

    Enter your zip code for estimated shipping dates

    Order by the dates below to get delivery by Christmas
    Standard Delivery *Enter zip code for order by date
    Express Delivery
    Priority Delivery
    Premium Delivery

    Orders must be placed by 5PM EST.

    Certain items require 2-3 business days to ship and is clearly indicated on the product page. These items cannot be expedited.

    Delivery times on Economy and Freight orders vary, exact delivery date cannot be determined.

  • Have questions? Our experts are here to help. Call 1-866-577-0663

Product Overview

Details

With a range of power options from 800 to 17,500 Watts, Generac has an affordable, reliable portable generator for any application.
Generac's premium fully-loaded user friendly XG Series portable generators are powered by Generac's own OHVI engine. Depend on this heavy-duty unit to provide years of reliable power.
Features:
  • Generac OHVI overhead valve industrial engine with full pressure lubrication and spin-on filter
  • Engine lasts three to four times longer than competitor's similar engines
  • Heavy-duty hardened steel tube cradle gives extra strength and durability
  • Impact resistant corners for durability
  • Power bar monitors wattage usage
  • Low-Oil pressure protection to prevent engine damage
  • Covered outlets for more protection from the environment
  • Start/stop fuel shut-off and choke controls conveniently located on control panel
  • Circuit breaker protected outlets guard against circuit overload
  • Plug-in battery charge jack
  • Electric start with battery included for easy start-up
  • Hour meter tracks usage between maintenance sessions
  • Never-flat wheels for easy transport
  • Good Housekeeping Seal of Approval
  • Unit not for use or sale in California, CARB compliant units available
Includes:
  • Battery
  • Engine Oil
  • Instruction Sheets
Downloads:

Specifications

Series: XG Series
Length: 32 in.
Width: 26 in.
Depth: 28 in.
Weight: 255 lbs.
Alternator Type: Brushed
Amperage: 66.7/33.3
CARB Compliant: No
Engine Displacement: 407cc
Engine Make: Generac
Engine Model: OHVI
Engine Speed (RPM): 3600
Frame Type: 2-Wheel Cage
Fuel Tank Capacity: 9 gal.
Fuel Type: Gasoline
Max. Watts: 10000
Number of Outlet(s): 5
Outlet Types: (4) 120V 20A 5-20R GFCI, (1) 120/240V 30A L14-30R Twist-Lock
Rated Watts: 8000
Run Time (50% Load): 10 hrs.
Starting System: Electric/Recoil
Voltage: 120/240V
Voltage Regulation: Automatic
Wheel Size: 9 in.
Wheel Type: NeverFlat

Recommendations

Reviews

4.7 / 5.0
36 Reviews
5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Star
26
9
1
0
0
Would you recommend?
Yes (34)
No (1)
Pros
Powerful (31)
Cons
Heavy (1)
Loud (1)
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Pros
Powerful
My initial assessment is
The assembly was quite easy and went well. I did not even bother to try to use the paper funnel that came with the unit to add the oil. I used a small plastic one that I had. A short piece of 3/8" hose would have been helpful but I did not have any handy. I added some gas and it started right up. I tested the recepticles and everything seems to be working fine. I am confident that I will be ready for the next power outage. Some items that concern me slightly are the battery and spark plug locations. These two areas are lacking in "user friendly" design. After the two year warrenty is up I will probably relocate the battery to be more accessable and I will use a battery that will accept a trickle charger. When it comes time to change the spark plug, it looks like that may take a little work to get to it. There is not much I can do about thet except deal with it when the time comes. The spring loaded handle locking device did stick as others have mentioned. It took a little work but I was able to free it up and used some WD40 and oil to get it working. If it sticks again I will probably drill some holes and use some drift pins. Overall I am very pleased with the unit and look forward to putting it to the test of a power outage. Who knows, the next time I have an outdoor project I may start up the XG8000E and run some extension chords and use my old electric power tools instead of my battery operated tools.
November 23, 2012
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Pros
Powerful
Solid Powerhouse at a Great Price!!!
Very impressed with the performance of this generator. Upgraded from a smaller 5700 watt unit so we could at least use a window air conditioner along with other loads if power went down in the summer. Filtered oil lubrication system hopefully means this will be the last generator I will have to buy in my lifetime. Starts instantly and waveform looks good for a portable. Love the flip down handles as it makes it a smaller footprint to store on the back porch. My reconditioned unit showed up looking like new and I am very happy with CPO. Don't think you can really go wrong with this.
September 12, 2014
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
CPO had it in stock when others didn't
I was looking for this specific generator and CPO was the only retailer to actually have units in stock. My generator arrived in perfect condition in a few days, as promised. I would definitely order from CPO again and recommend them to others without hesitation.
February 21, 2013
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Pros
Powerful
Great Service, Great Generator!
We decided to purchase a generator because we were without power for 5-days as a result of the Derecho storm that hit Maryland last July. After much research, I purchased the 8000 watt Generac generator from CPO because they offered the most bang for the buck. The generator arrived ahead of schedule, just one week before Hurricane Sandy blew through Maryland. It was easy to assemble (...rear tires, front stand...) and, after following the instructions to the letter, it started on the first try. I would highly recommend this generator to anyone that's looking for a lot of power at the right price.
October 31, 2012
Recommendations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend
Pros
Powerful
Ran for three days - Then stopped
Had the generator for a week before the Halloween snown storm (2011). Assembly was easy, started right up and was on line quickly. A little loud but not terrible. After three day (running 16 hours a day it started running rough and then stopped.
After looking at it I found the chock was sticking and the air filter was slightly burnt and damp. After turning the filter top to bottom it started working again. Ran for three hours then the power came back on.
Generac customer/technical support basically gives you numbers of service companies to call. I got lucky with the third company "R G Hoffman Bangor PA". Great customer service. I will update this review when I find out what the underlying issues are. Recommend not at this time.
November 4, 2011
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Pros
Powerful
Life and weather Changer !!!!
I bought this generator after the October blizzard in the Northeast, because we lost power for 6 days. I had a line installed from the driveway to the additional circuit box set up next to the regular circuit box so we could operate almost anything in the house if necessary. Needless to say we had the mildest winter in 70 years so my generator is still a virgin!!
June 30, 2012
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Pros
Powerful
very nice product
Very nice generator. CPO customer and Generac customer service has been excellent. Bought generator refurbished and it came with a broken choke cable. Made me a bit skeptical that Generac tested this unit. It was not damaged during shipping so how did they run and test it???. In any event had to load it into my pick up(glad I paid $45 for lift gate delivery)and haul it off to authorized repair facility. They fixed cable and went over the entire generator and said it was perfect. Now I have peace of mind. A bit of a hassle but worth the savings. I believe CPO when they say it was a fluke. Have purchased other refurbished items from them and have never been disappointed. Generac let this one slip by. Im still giving it 5 stars because of the quality of the unit and the customer service of both CPO and Generac. I also love the fact that this particular unit is made in the USA.
June 30, 2012
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Pros
Powerful
Happy in Va
Loss Power past week during 104 temps. Ran generator for 14 hrs carried two frigs, freezer, lights and air conditioner. Kept us cool. Great product very user friendly.
July 13, 2012
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
dependable great generator by generac
i work for a utility company in Ma. take my word for it, buy one of these from CPO you will not regret it !! my in laws have a honda generator requires the higher octaine fuel plus it was very expensive to buy...generac is made in USA !!! bring on the storms of 2013 "you WILL BE READY" trust me....
July 16, 2012
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Pros
Powerful
Excellent Purchase for the Money
Good Purchase for running watts vs price. Moving up to 15W almost doubles the price. One person can do the setup. Started up with no problems. Had manual transfer switch installed. Compact design. Looks like changing spark plug will be a challenge. Will need to remove a side to get to cover over the spark plug. Sound level about the same as a lawn mower.
February 25, 2012

Questions & Answers

Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
Browse 7 questions Browse 7 questions and 11 answers
What should I do if my generator starts but Wong make power (no ac output) ? Pushed all resets
J on Apr 22, 2015
BEST ANSWER: I had the same problem. I found I had to push the reset button in with the tip of some needle nose pliers. I carefully pushed the button "way down" and that reset the sockets. Then they worked.
Does this generator have voltage regulation ?
Mitch on Nov 20, 2012
BEST ANSWER: This generator has a 'Power bar' to monitor the wattage usage and the circuits are protected against overload by circuit breakers.
What transfer switch is best suited for this generator ?
Ed on Oct 22, 2012
BEST ANSWER: For the Generac XG8000E XG Series 8000 Watt Electric-Manual Start Portable Generator I suggest a 6 circuit transfer switch.
What would be the estimated run time at 58A @240V or near 100% load?
mikex on Oct 6, 2012
BEST ANSWER: The estimated run time would be for three hours.
I have to replace the head gasket. I need head bolt torque numbers and intake and exhaust valve clearance .
thank you
john
proud owner of xg8000e on Dec 5, 2015
BEST ANSWER: Please contact Generac directly at 888-436-3722.
My generator will start with pull cord. The battery is charged. When I press starlter button, the starter rotates. I can see the "gear" from the strater rotate and whine, but there is no engaging with the engine or flywheel. Suggestions?
Bugs on Jun 19, 2015
BEST ANSWER: You will need to contact Generac Technical support directly at 888-436-3722 for assistance
does this machine have auto idle or idle control
Sean on Jan 9, 2014
BEST ANSWER: The generator has idle control at full speed.

New Vs. Reconditioned

What's the difference between New and Factory-Reconditioned?

Factory-Reconditioned products have been returned to the manufacturer and are restored to like-new operating condition; they go through a rigorous testing and inspection process. Plus, they offer a significant savings vs. new.
  • Reconditioned products may have minor cosmetic blemishes or scratches that do not affect item performance.
  • Reconditioned products may not come with all of the consumables the new version comes with (bits, sanding pads/papers, cases, etc.).
  • Both come with a manufacturer warranty and are covered by our Money Back Guarantee; New is 30 days, Reconditioned is 60 days.
Condition: New Factory Reconditioned
Features: Same Same
Specs: Same Same
Includes: Battery,
Engine Oil,
Instruction Sheets
Battery,
Engine Oil,
Instruction Sheets
Availability: In Stock In Stock
Warranty: 2 Year Limited 1 Year Limited
Price: $1,249.99 $1,049.99
You Save: N/A $200.00 (16%)

Warranty

GENERAC POWER SYSTEMS “TWO YEAR” LIMITED WARRANTY FOR XG SERIES PORTABLE GENERATORS


For a period of two years from the date of original sale, Generac Power Systems, Inc. (Generac) warrants its XG Series generators will be free from defects in materials and workmanship for the items and period set forth below. Generac will, at its option, repair or replace any part which, upon examination, inspection and testing by Generac or a Generac Authorized Warranty Service Dealer, is found to be defective.

 

Any equipment that the purchaser/owner claims to be defective must be returned to and examined by thenearest Generac Authorized Warranty Service Dealer. All transportation costs under the warranty, including return to the factory, are to be borne and prepaid by the purchaser/ owner. This warranty applies only to Generac XG Series portable generators and is not transferable from original purchaser. Save your proof-of-purchase receipt. If you do not provide proof of the initial purchase date, the manufacturer’s shipping date of the product will be used to determine the warranty period.


WARRANTY SCHEDULE

Consumer applications are warranted for two (2) years. Commercial and Rental applications are warranted for one (1) year or 1000 hours maximum, whichever comes first.


CONSUMER APPLICATION YEAR ONE

100% (one hundred percent) coverage on Labor and Part(s) listed (proof of purchase and maintenance is required):

  • Engine- All Components
  • Alternator- All Components

    • YEAR TWO

      100% (one hundred percent) coverage on Part(s) listed (proof of purchase and maintenance is required):

      • Engine- All Components
      • Alternator- All Components

        • COMMERCIAL/RENTAL APPLICATION YEAR ONE

          100% (one hundred percent) coverage on Labor and Part(s) listed (proof of purchase and maintenance is required):

          • Engine- All Components
          • Alternator- All Components

            • NOTE:

              For the purpose of this warranty “consumer use” means personal residential household or recreational use by original purchaser. This warranty does not apply to units used for Prime Power in place of utility where utility power service is present or where utility power service does not normally exist. Once a generator has experienced commercial or rental use, it shall thereafter be considered a non-consumer use generator for the purpose of this warranty.


              All warranty expense allowances are subject to the conditions defined in Generac’s Warranty Policies, Procedures and Flat Rate Manual.


              THIS WARRANTY SHALL NOT APPLY TO THE FOLLOWING:
              • Generac portable generators that utilize non-Generac replacement parts.
              • Costs of normal maintenance and adjustments.
              • Failures caused by any contaminated fuels, oils or lack of proper oil levels.
              • Repairs or diagnostics performed by individuals other than Guardian/Generac authorized dealers not authorized in writing by Generac Power Systems.
              • Failures due, but not limited, to normal wear and tear, accident, misuse, abuse, negligence or improper use. As with all mechanical devices, the Generac engines need periodic part(s) service and replacement to perform as designed. This warranty will not cover repair when normal use has exhausted the life of a part(s) or engine.
              • Failures caused by any act of God and other force majeure events beyond the manufactures control.
              • Damage related to rodent and/or insect infestation.
              • Products that are modified or altered in a manner not authorized by Generac in writing.
              • Any incidental, consequential or indirect damages caused by defects in materials or workmanship, or any delay in repair or replacement of the defective part(s).
              • Failure due to misapplication.
              • Telephone, cellular phone, facsimile, internet access or other communication expenses.
              • Living or travel expenses of person(s) performing service, except as specifically included within the terms of a specific unit warranty period.
              • Expenses related to “customer instruction” or troubleshooting where no manufacturing defect is found.
              • Rental equipment used while warranty repairs are being performed.
              • Overnight freight or special shipping costs for replacement part(s).
              • Overtime, holiday or emergency labor.
              • Starting batteries, fuses, light bulbs and engine fluids.

               

              THIS WARRANTY IS IN PLACE OF ALL OTHER WARRANTIES, EXPRESSED OR IMPLIED, SPECIFICALLY, GENERAC POWER SYSTEMS MAKES NO OTHER WARRANTIES AS TO THE MERCHANTABILITY OR FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.

               

              Any implied warranties which are allowed by law, shall be limited in duration to the terms of the express warranty provided herein. Some states do not allow limitations on how long an implied warranty lasts, so the above limitation may not apply to purchaser/owner.

               

              GENERAC POWER SYSTEMS ONLY LIABILITY SHALL BE THE REPAIR OR REPLACEMENT OF PART(S) AS STATED ABOVE. IN NO EVENT SHALL GENERAC POWER SYSTEMS BE LIABLE FOR ANY INCIDENTAL, OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES, EVEN IF SUCH DAMAGES ARE A DIRECT RESULT OF GENERAC POWER SYSTEMS, INC. NEGLIGENCE.

               

              Some states do not allow the exclusion or limitation of incidental or consequential damages, so the above limitations may not apply to purchaser/owner. Purchaser/owner agrees to make no claims against Generac Power Systems, Inc. based on negligence. This warranty gives purchaser/owner specific legal rights. Purchaser/owner also may have other rights that vary from state to state.

Christmas Shipping Cut Offs

Enter your zip code for estimated shipping dates

Order by the dates below to get delivery by Christmas
Standard Delivery *Enter zip code for order by date
Express Delivery
Priority Delivery
Premium Delivery

Orders must be placed by 5PM EST.

Certain items require 2-3 business days to ship and is clearly indicated on the product page. These items cannot be expedited.

Delivery times on Economy and Freight orders vary, exact delivery date cannot be determined.