Need Help? Experts Available 1-866-577-0663
Welcome:
Login|Register
My Cart:
0 Items
New Lower Prices on Top Brands
Model#: FESN561287
Email
|
Condition:
New

What are the different product conditions?

New
Brand new items;Full manufacturer warranty available
Reconditioned
Manufacturer inspected, repaired and tested items; CPO 60 day money back guarantee
Open Box
New or Recon items with possible minor cosmetic damage; CPO 60 day money back guarantee
Certified
Returned items inspected, repaired and tested by CPO technicians; CPO 60 day money back guarantee

Festool 561287 Kapex KS 120 EB Sliding Compound Miter Saw

Model#: FESN561287
Out of Stock
Want an email when it's back in stock?
FESTOOL PRICE INCREASE EFFECTIVE APRIL 1, 2015! This change will affect all Festool dealers. Buy now before the price increases!
Free Shipping (continental U.S.)

Product Overview

Details

Capacity in a compact design. Kapex.
The Kapex is the most advanced sliding compound miter saw on the market today. In the hands of a carpenter, the Kapex makes cuts that rival the finest trim work out there. Engineered to be lightweight and compact, the KS 120 is the perfect saw for the workshop or the jobsite. Effective dust extraction, precise cuts, easy adjustments, and quality components are some of the features that should make the KS 120 the number one choice for professional tradesman.
Features:
  • Ergonomically designed carrying positions and lightweight 47 lbs. design with locking head provide maximum safety and portability
  • Counter spring balanced bevel adjustment system keeps head in position at any angle even when not locked in place
  • Compact magnesium alloy base offers extreme durability and saves space in the workshop
  • Bevel lock knob controls positive detents and locks bevel angle with three settings: positive detents at 0 and -45 degrees, free movement from -45 to 45 degrees, and free movement up to 47 degrees
  • Special cutting position that provides greater cutting capacity by utilizing the back portion of the blade more effectively
  • Rail forward design with robust 30mm rails prevents head play to ensure smooth, accurate cuts every time
  • Integrated dust ports and dust hood offer enhanced debris removal for cleaner results
  • Dual lasers help users easily align cuts from the left or right side of the blade by clearly defining material that needs removal during cut
  • MMC electronics provide constant blade speed while under load of maximum cutting efficiency
Includes:
  • Kapex KS 120 EB Sliding Compound Miter Saw - 561287
  • MiterFast Angle Transfer Device
  • Work Piece Clamp
  • 10 in. (260mm) 60T HW Saw Blade
  • Wrench
Downloads:

Specifications

Series: Kapex
Weight: 47 lbs.
Amperage: 13
Arbor Size: 1/8 in.
Bevel: Dual
Blade Diameter: 10-1/4 in.
Blade Speed (RPM): 3400
Cutting Capacity (0 Miter/0 Bevel): 12 in. x 3-15/32 in.
Cutting Capacity (45 Miter Left/0 Bevel): 8-15/32 in. x 3-15/32 in.
Cutting Capacity (45 Miter Left/45 Bevel Left): 8-15/32 in. x 2-1/8 in.
Cutting Capacity (45 Miter Left/45 Bevel Right): 8-15/32 in. x 1-3/8 in.
Cutting Capacity (45 Miter Right/0 Bevel): 8-15/32 in. x 3-15/32 in.
Laser Guide System: Yes
Max. Bevel Angle (Left): 47 Degrees
Max. Bevel Angle (Right): 47 Degrees
Max. Miter Angle (Left): 50 Degrees
Max. Miter Angle (Right): 60 Degrees
Slide System: Dual Rail
Voltage: 120V

Reviews

Product Reviews

REVIEW SNAPSHOT®

by PowerReviews
FestoolKapex KS 120 EB Sliding Compound Miter Saw
 
4.5

(based on 21 reviews)

89%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Pros

  • Good design (19)
  • Easy to use (17)
  • Good power output (17)
  • Great blade (15)
  • Safe (13)

Cons

    Best Uses

    • In the field (15)
    • In the workshop (15)
    • Home improvement (12)
      • Reviewer Profile:
      • Professional (13), Avid do-it-yourselfer (6)

    Reviewed by 21 customers

    Sort by

    Displaying reviews 11-15

    Back to top

    (1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

     
    4.0

    Capable Miter Saw

    By hilligpz

    from Cincinnati, OH

    Verified Reviewer

    Pros

    • Good Design
    • Great Blade
    • Powerful

    Cons

      Best Uses

        Comments about Kapex KS 120 EB Sliding Compound Miter Saw:

        Having used this saw for 2 years now, I'm quite satisfied with it. The miterfast (angle measurer) has come in handy in many renovations when walls are not quite square. The lasers are wonderful and totally adjustable. The cutting capacity is almost 13" for 3/4" stock in such a small package. Haven't tried the saw with the 36mm hose due to the price, but the stock vac hose collects well enough.
        My only complaints are when cutting some bevels, the blade housing hits the stops and they must be removed to accommodate the cut.
        The optional worktable is a bit undersized for me as I like to lay out tools, pencils, etc. in front of the saw while working.

        (1 of 4 customers found this review helpful)

         
        4.0

        Almost Twice As Heavy as My Makita

        By sjdehner

        from Washington

        About Me Avid Do-It-Yourselfer

        Verified Reviewer

        Pros

        • Easy To Use
        • Good Design
        • Great Blade
        • Powerful
        • Safe

        Cons

        • Too Heavy

        Best Uses

        • In The Field

        Comments about Kapex KS 120 EB Sliding Compound Miter Saw:

        I had a chance to try out this saw recently, which as great since I'd been considering one for my own work. After seeing it in person I changed my mind not because it performs poorly, quite the contrary; it's too heavy. To most contractors this probably seems odd since most mitre saws are typically over 50 pounds. However, I have a small Makita 10" that weighs in at a feathery 27 pounds and is a breeze to move when needed (which happens to be a lot in my case).

        For a shop I'd much prefer the Festool; for work that requires the saw be moved, well, I don't think so. I prefer my little Makita. I believe Festool has engineered a smaller version of the Kapex for European markets. If that saw comes to North America I will certainly be back to give it a lift!

        Small is beautiful...

         
        5.0

        What a great item

        By Jones

        from South Carolina

        About Me Professional

        Verified Reviewer

        Pros

        • Easy To Use
        • Good Design
        • Great Blade
        • Powerful

        Cons

          Best Uses

          • Home Improvement
          • In The Workshop

          Comments about Kapex KS 120 EB Sliding Compound Miter Saw:

          The Kpex with the UG-Cart works like a top, easey setup and take down. Gould not ask for a better saw.

           
          5.0

          If GOD wanted a Miter saw!

          By Park Avenue

          from Fall River, Mass

          About Me Professional

          Verified Reviewer

          Pros

          • Easy To Use
          • Good Design
          • Great Blade
          • Powerful
          • Safe

          Cons

            Best Uses

            • Home Improvement
            • In The Field
            • In The Workshop

            Comments about Kapex KS 120 EB Sliding Compound Miter Saw:

            If God wanted a sliding saw he would pick this. I have used every saw out there and nothing comes close to this. Dont worry about making a mistake cutting a board to short. Add some glue, clamp it together, wait for it to dry, Sand it out and play tricks on your friends to ask them to find the seam! They never will. Also the dust control is Awesome. Cant ask for anything better!

            (2 of 2 customers found this review helpful)

             
            4.0

            Cutting crown mold

            By jerjasz

            from Castaic Ca.

            About Me Professional

            Pros

            • Easy To Use
            • Good Design
            • Powerful

            Cons

              Best Uses

              • In The Field

              Comments about Kapex KS 120 EB Sliding Compound Miter Saw:

              I have to comment on Haroldgold's statement that he could not cut 7 3/4" crown mold with this saw. He needs to learn how to use his miter saw. You cut crown mold laying flat on the table and set your miter and bevel cuts as to the degree of crown mold angle used. Crown comes either a 45 degree or 38 degree angle to the wall.

              Displaying reviews 11-15

              Back to top

              Questions & Answers

               

              Warranty

              Festool Warranty

              Festool offers a 3-year warranty, one of the longest in the industry. This warranty is valid on the pre-condition that the tool is used and operated in compliance with the Festool operating instructions. Festool warrants that the specified tool will be free from defects in materials and workmanship for a term of 3 years from the date of purchase.

              Conditions of 1 + 2 warranty

              You are entitled to a free extended warranty (1 year + 2 years = 3 years) for your Festool power tool. Festool is responsible for all shipping costs during the first year of the warranty. During the second and third year of the warranty the customer is responsible for shipping the tool to Festool. Festool will pay for return shipping to the customer using UPS Ground Service. All warranty service is valid 3 years from the date of original purchase on your receipt or invoice.

              Festool makes no other warranty, express or implied, for Festool portable power tools. No agent, representative, distributor, dealer, or employee of Festool has the authority to increase or otherwise change the obligations or limitations of this warranty. The obligations of Festool in its sole discretion under this warranty shall be limited to the repair or replacement of any Festool portable power tool that is found to be defective as packaged with the User Manual.

              Excluded from the coverage under this warranty are: normal wear and tear; damages caused by misuse, abuse, or neglect; damage caused by anything other than defects in material and workmanship. This warranty does not apply to accessory items such as circular saw blades, drill bits, router bits, jigsaw blades, sanding belts, and grinding wheels. Also excluded are "wearing parts," such as carbon brushes, lamellas of air tools, rubber collars and seals, sanding discs and pads, and batteries.

              Festool portable power tools requiring replacement or repair are to be returned to Festool. Call (800) 554-8741 for address details. In no event shall Festool be liable for any consequential or incidental damages for breach of this or any other warranty, express or implied whatsoever. All warranties implied by state law, including the implied warranties of merchantability and fitness for a particular purpose are hereby limited to the duration of three years.

              Some states in the U.S. do not allow the limitations on how long an implied warranty lasts, so the above limitation may not apply to you. With the exception of any warranties implied by state or province law as hereby limited, the foregoing express limited warranty is exclusive and in lieu of all other warranties, guarantees, agreements, and similar obligations of Festool.

              This warranty gives you specific legal rights and you may also have other rights that vary from state to state in the U.S.